How to Make Mistakes

2 Oct

tumblr_mdyclzi7ip1ry9e1po1_500So, I know what you’re thinking… Who purposefully tries to make a mistake? Well, no one. But doesn’t it happen to every one? Absolutely! For today, I wanted to provide you with some tips on how making mistakes can be a beneficial process.

The first thing to understand- is that everybody makes mistakes! Hannah Montana was so right! (yes, I am lame) We do not live in a perfect world, so we’re bound to make several mishaps a long the way. If you never make mistakes, how can you ever learn from them? Last year, as a freshman, I studied so hard for one of my first major exams. When the grade came back, I had failed the test. At this point I knew my life would be over. I had to call my parents and tell them that I had failed my first test, which meant I was basically failing at life. I was a huge blubbery mess. Quite pathetic if I do say so myself. My first mistake was thinking that I was dumb for failing. The way that you choose to treat and accept your mistakes actually proves your intelligence. I was able to take that failed test, understand what went wrong, and I actually aced the next test. When I was learning to ride my bike when I was younger, every time I fell off, my mom would encourage me to get back on and try again – no matter how frustrated I would get. As simple of a concept that may be, it’s so true! You cannot quit just because you make a mistake. Wipe the dirt off, stand up, and get going! Never stop believing in yourself.

You probably won’t get everything right the first time, and if you’re like me… then it will take you a couple of tries to get it! But how rewarding is it to finally achieve the goal you’ve made for yourself? College is an experience like no other. You are bound to mess up once or twice in these four years. Don’t let your mistakes define you! Use them, learn from them, and make a promise to yourself to do better next time!

-xoxo, Emily

10 Responses to “How to Make Mistakes”

  1. Mark October 2, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    I have had that very same thing happen to me with tests. It just brings you down when you try so hard to do good and it does not work out. I will have to remember what you have said the next time that it happens.

    • edarnell895 October 3, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks for your comment, Mark! I hope these tips will help you!

  2. megangrubbs October 3, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    Thank you for this! It’s so easy to get discouraged when I make a mistake. Thanks for reminding me they’re can be something to learn and grow from. 🙂
    – Megan @ Charming on the Cheap

    • edarnell895 October 3, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks, Megan! I’m so glad you could be encouraged!

  3. Bekah October 3, 2013 at 1:37 am #

    This is such an encouraging post! I think it is really important for college students to keeps things in perspective like you said.

    • edarnell895 October 3, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

      Thank you, Bekah! I wish I would have learned this perspective sooner than I did!

  4. diamondahm October 3, 2013 at 2:13 am #

    Hey Emily, I think this is a great concept. Often times we get frustrated because we are afraid to be wrong but this is reassuring in knowing that it is okay to not always get it right.

    • edarnell895 October 3, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

      Thanks, Diamond! I am guilty of trying to always be right and have my way. Making mistakes can definitely humble you and change your perspectives!

  5. LipstickLessons October 3, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I love this post Emily! So encouraging 🙂

    • edarnell895 October 3, 2013 at 6:36 pm #

      Thanks, Tiah! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

Seattle Stylista

A fashion, beauty, and lifestyle blog

Thought Catalog

Thought Catalog is a digital youth culture magazine dedicated to your stories and ideas.

Smudged Ink

"Though she be but little, she is fierce!" William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night's Dream

Life as a Princess of the King

"I am a Princess because my Father is the King of kings"

Dreams and Gems

Own Your Look. Own Your Life.

lipsticklessons

A college lady's guide to life

Music That Feeds The Soul

Dedicated to finding new music and discovering new artists

Enjoy K-PoP :^)

K-pop is Korean Pop or Korean Popular Music

Student-Athlete Muse

Musing when there is time

Charming on the Cheap

Crafting a Beautiful Life on a Budget

The Corner Kitchen Closet

Cooking tips and ideas for dorm room dining.

Recommendation: Romania

A visitor's view on a charming country

Eat.Run.Blog.

a college student's guide to living a healthy life

Confessions of a College Student

A "How-To" for college students wishing to make the most out of their experiences on campus!

