How to be Brave

17 Sep

Almost two years ago, I sat in a coliseum surrounded by family members, friends, and my fellow classmates. My high school’s alma mater played over the loud speakers and I looked down in my hands to see that I held my diploma. A diploma with MY name on it. Graduation caps began to fall from the sky while cheers and yelling erupted around me. All I could think about was, “…now what?”.

Flash-forward with me. Today, I’m sitting in one of my communications classes as a sophomore in college. Where does time go? That’s a great question. How did I get here? By a lot of money (I mean A LOT), a lot of support, a few tears here and there, and a decision that I chose to make for myself.

Is it hard leaving home? Yes. Is it hard to constantly be studying your life away? Yes. Is it hard not knowing what the future holds? Absolutely. But for me, going to college just opened another chapter in my life. New opportunities, new friends, new memories to make. I would be lying if I told you that I never get frustrated, get scared, or even question my decision to be where I’m at. I do.

I know that by sitting in this classroom, no matter how monotonous it may seem.. that I’m making a difference in my life. I’m choosing to take the next step to better myself, to become the best Emily that I can be. I don’t know what tomorrow holds and I’m not even really sure that my assignments will ever come to a stop, but I do know that this is my choice. I’m choosing to be here.

Take every day, one at a time. Try all of the things that scare you. Make more memories than you ever thought you were capable of making. Drink A LOT of coffee. Stay up all night. Enjoy being poor. Finally, don’t forget to breathe.

I never thought I’d be a sophomore in college, but here I am. I’m two years into my college career! My best advice for you is this: Be brave. The possibilities are endless. You can do this.

xoxo- Emily

Leave a Reply

Seattle Stylista

A fashion, beauty, and lifestyle blog

Smudged Ink

"Though she be but little, she is fierce!" William Shakespeare, A Midsummer Night's Dream

Life as a Princess of the King

"I am a Princess because my Father is the King of kings"

Dreams and Gems

Own Your Look. Own Your Life.

lipsticklessons

A college lady's guide to life

Music That Feeds The Soul

Dedicated to finding new music and discovering new artists

Enjoy K-PoP :^)

K-pop is Korean Pop or Korean Popular Music

Student-Athlete Muse

Musing when there is time

Charming on the Cheap

Crafting a Beautiful Life on a Budget

The Corner Kitchen Closet

Cooking tips and ideas for dorm room dining.

Recommendation: Romania

A visitor's view on a charming country

Eat.Run.Blog.

a college student's guide to living a healthy life

Confessions of a College Student

A "How-To" for college students wishing to make the most out of their experiences on campus!

